Permitted Regulated Verified 2026-09-07 · ver. 0.2.3 How we verify these rules

Installment Loans in Utah

Utah consumer installment lending operates under the Utah Consumer Credit Code. Utah DFI states that state law does not specify a general interest-rate ceiling; contract rates remain subject to disclosure, unconscionability and any specific product rules.

Utah installment loans at a glance

Legal status
Permitted Regulated
Legal category
Utah Consumer Credit Loan
Maximum amount in this regime
Utah’s Consumer Credit Code applies broadly below the current Regulation Z exemption threshold; for 2026 Utah DFI lists that threshold as $73,400. The PLS Cash Advance $5,000 endpoint is therefore editorial, not statutory.
Term
The cited Utah Consumer Credit Code materials do not impose one universal maximum installment term for all consumer loans in the $1,000–$5,000 site range.
Regulator
Utah Department of Financial Institutions
Verified
2026-09-07

Choose a loan type by amount

PLS Cash Advance currently presents request amounts from $200 to $5,000. The ranges below are navigation guidance between our state loan guides — not statutory limits, eligibility rules, or a promise of approval.

$200–$1,000

Payday Loans in Utah

Editorial payday route only; Utah law does not establish $1,000 as a deferred-deposit maximum.

See Payday Loans

$1,000–$5,000 Current guide

Installment Loans in Utah

Editorial multi-payment route; Utah law does not impose a $5,000 statutory loan ceiling.

Amount and term limits

Utah’s Consumer Credit Code applies broadly below the current Regulation Z exemption threshold; for 2026 Utah DFI lists that threshold as $73,400. The PLS Cash Advance $5,000 endpoint is therefore editorial, not statutory.

The cited Utah Consumer Credit Code materials do not impose one universal maximum installment term for all consumer loans in the $1,000–$5,000 site range.

Interest, fees and repayment

There is no universal Utah APR ceiling for ordinary consumer installment credit. Pricing is contract-based subject to disclosure, unconscionability and any product-specific restrictions.

Utah Code §70C-2-101 generally permits the parties to contract for finance charges and other charges except where restricted elsewhere; Utah DFI states that Utah law does not specify an interest-rate ceiling and points to the unconscionability provision in §70C-7-106.

Closed-end consumer credit may use scheduled installment repayment under the agreement and Utah Consumer Credit Code.

Rollovers, refinancing and early payment

Rollover allowed?
Not reduced to a yes/no rule
Refinancing depends on the consumer credit agreement and applicable Utah law; deferred-deposit rollover rules do not govern this installment route.
Prepayment penalty allowed?
Not reduced to a yes/no rule
No single universal prepayment-penalty rule is asserted here for every Utah consumer loan in the site range.

Utah borrower protections

  • Entities subject to Utah’s consumer-credit notification requirement file through NMLS.
  • Utah DFI states there is no general statutory interest-rate ceiling.
  • Consumer-credit agreements remain subject to the Utah Consumer Credit Code, including unconscionability protections.
  • The $5,000 endpoint is the PLS Cash Advance selector boundary rather than a statutory ceiling.

Utah loan cost calculator

Why there is no single statutory calculator: Because Utah does not set one statewide interest-rate ceiling for ordinary consumer credit, a “maximum statutory payment” calculator would invent a cap that does not exist.

How to verify a lender in Utah

Regulator: Utah Department of Financial Institutions.

Consumer Credit Notification / applicable lending authority

Verify a lender license

Official sources

  1. Utah Code §70C-2-101 — Finance and other charges · primary
  2. Utah DFI — Consumer Lending · primary
  3. Utah DFI — Interest Rates · primary

Last regulatory verification: 2026-09-07. Laws can change; verify current terms and lender status before borrowing. Read our research methodology.